Records That Made History

Julie Driscoll, Brian Auger & The Trinity – Street Noise

todayMay 11, 2024 7

share close

Street Noise was released in 1969 by Julie Driscoll, Brian Auger & The Trinity, originally as a double LP. Includes, among others, covers of “Light My Fire” by the Doors, “Take Me To The Water” by Nina Simone, “Save The Country” by Laura Nero, “All Blues” by Miles Davis, “Indian Rope Man” by Richie Havens, “Let The Sun Shine In” and “I Got Life” from the musical Hair.

Driscoll covers this wide range of musical influences with ease and together with her highly emotive and subtle voice and Auger’s amazing Hammond, the album is a superb and thoroughly interesting work that should not be missing from any record collection.

Street Noise was a record that may have been fueled by elements from its era, but it’s certainly not stuck there, as we’re already well into the 21st century and the music here sounds as fresh and exciting as the day it was recorded.

The sound, especially on the fully remastered reissue of the album, and its deluxe packaging form a package for anyone interested in the evolution of Auger’s music, which changed immediately after this album with the creation of Oblivion Express , but also for those interested in Driscoll’s rather brave, innovative and exciting career, which with her vocal improvisations discovered entirely new ways of using the human voice.

Through this album I select the arrangement of Light My Fire, by the Doors, in an excellent jazzy performance of intense eroticism and vocal climax.


How Good It Would Be To Feel Free
A1. Tropic Of Capricorn 5:30
A2. Czechoslovakia 6:45
A3. Take Me To The Water 4:00
A4. A Word About Colour 1:35
B1. Light My Fire 4:30

Kiss Him Quickly, He Has To Part
B2. Indian Rope Man 3:00
B3. When I Was A Young Girl 8:00
B4. Flesh Failures (Let The Sunshine In) 3:00

Looking In The Eye Of The World
C1. Ellis Island 4:10
C2. In Search Of The Sun 4:25
C3. Finally Found You Out 4:35
C4. Looking In The Eye Of The World 5:05

Save The Country
D1. Vauxhall To Lambeth Bridge 6:20
D2. All Blues 5:40
D3. I’ve Got Life 4:30
D4. Save The Country 4:00

Written by: Dimitris Sigalos

Rate it

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply

Who we are

Broadcasting from Athens Greece, BluesWave Radio plays the best selections from all the genres of Blues and Rock music, ranging from the 60’s to today.

With a a passion for radio we’ve been curating the perfect playlists and creating great shows, for your work, leisure or relax time. You can trust BluesWave Radio for your favorite music 24/7!


Our radio is always online!
Listen now completely free!


Musical works are offered only for private use of each visitor/user and any further use/exploitation under any circumstances is forbidden without the permission of “autodia” and GEA-GRAMMO.